top of page

It is Well.


“When peace like a river

attendeth my ways,

When sorrows like sea billows roll,

Whatever my lot, thou hast taught me to say:

It is well, it is well with my soul.”

Let me give you a little background to this hymn: these well known words were penned by Horatio Spafford in 1873. He wrote these words after his son died, a fire had destroyed all of his real estate investments, and his four daughters perished in a shipwreck. After losing nearly everything he held dear, he turned to God and wrote the words “it is well.”

Can you imagine?

Instead of being angry with God for seemingly taking everything from him, he trusted God’s faithfulness and ran into His arms for comfort.

If only we could be that trusting of God in our own lives.

I don’t know about you, but I know a thing or two about storms. In the past year, I have lost all my financial security, my marriage, my home, my child through an impending adoption, and the hope of any plan I had made for my future.

I felt that my lot was unwarranted and unfair. I was angry. I was hurt. I was heartbroken.

Have you been there? I think most of us have at some point, and I can say from experience that it’s a terribly lonely place to be.

But friends, let me tell you this: God Is Faithful.

Let me say that again in case you skimmed over that last part: GOD IS FAITHFUL.

Not one time while I was faced with the events that completely turned my world upside down did I miss out on God’s presence.

In fact, I felt His presence more than I ever had before. You see, during my time of tragedy, He was able to mold my heart and show me things I never would have understood before.

I now know that is was God who opened my eyes to things that were happening in my marriage. It was God who gave me the knowledge and wisdom (and a helpful father) to help me get my finances back in order. It was God who gave me the strength to stop my adoption process and refund the money from the fundraiser. It was God who opened up my parents’ home for me to take refuge in and live in while I sorted everything else out. And it was God who told me that it is okay not to have a plan for my future.

And now, for the first time in my life, I am completely reliant on God to guide my path, to open up doors and opportunities, to lead me where He wants me to go.

Let me tell you, friends, this is a peaceful place to be.

Am I nervous? Yes. Anxious? Sometimes. I am a planner by nature, and I am facing a world full of unknowns.

Satan wants you to feel lonely. Satan wants you to feel unwanted. Satan wants you to feel uncared for by God.

In this fallen world that we live in, there are things that we face that seem unfair and unnecessary. Please know that God did not purposefully do these things to hurt you. The sinful condition of the world has horrible side effects on our lives.

But, it is well with my soul, because I know that God’s plans for me are greater than anything I could have planned for myself.

Today, I pray that you can cast any stress, anxiety, frustration, hurt, anger, and heartbrokenness on Jesus. He truly does care for you. His heart breaks for you. He is the ultimate comforter and friend. Don’t ever forget that.

“Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good; His faithful love endures forever.” 1 Chronicles 16:34

“For I know the plans I have for you”- this is the Lord’s declaration- “plans for your well-being, not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.” Jeremiah 29:11

“Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God, so that He may exalt you at the proper time, casting all your cares on Him, because He cares for you.”

1 Peter 5: 6-7

Mary is a 20-something year-old kindergarten teacher from Alabama. She loves to read thrillers, all things Disney, and her cat Marshall. If you can make her laugh (which is pretty darn easy to do) she’ll be your best friend.

bottom of page